Member Login
International association of packaging research institutes

Michigan State University - School of Packaging


130 Packaging Building East Lansing, MI 48824-1223


Susan Selke PhD (Interim Director)

Other staff

Dr Rafael Auras (Packaging Materials)

Dr Laura Bix (Medical Packaging)

Prof Dr Gary Burgess (Distribution Packaging)

Dr Robb Clarke (RFID/Machinery)

Prof Dr Bruce Harte (Food Packaging)

Prof Dr Harold Hughes (Packaging Operations)

Dr Maria Rubino (Food Packaging)

Prof Dr Diana Twede (Logistical Packaging)

Prof Joe Hotchkiss (Currently on sabbatical)


+1 517-355-4555


+1 517-353-8999

The School of Packaging, an academic unit of Michigan State University, was established in 1952. The first Bachelor of Science degree was conferred in 1955. Over 7,000 B.S. degrees, 500 M.S. degrees, and 20 Ph.D. degrees have been conferred to date. The School offers a comprehensive curriculum in Packaging, including courses in mathematics, physics, computers and the physical sciences, and business. Fall 2004, 560 undergraduate students, 40 M.S. and 18 Ph.D. students were enrolled. In 2002, the School developed the first online M.S. degree program in Packaging. The School of Packaging has a broad research program which is committed to advancing the 'State-of-the-Art' of packaging. Research is funded through private contract and research consortiums (Center for Food and Pharmaceutical Packaging Research and the Center for Distribution Packaging), federal and industry association funds and gifts. Major emphasis is placed in the areas of material science, food, healthcare packaging, mass transport, distribution and logistics, and solid waste management. The School has a well equipped facility including eight research laboratories. Research is conducted through the combined efforts of eleven faculty and 55 graduate students.


IAPRI 2017 -Call for papers opens

The 28th IAPRI Symposium is taking place between the 9-12 May 2017 in Lausanne, Switzerland. it is hosted jointly by Vaud University of Applied Sciences and Nestec. For details for the Call for Papers please click here.

Latest News

New IAPRI president elected

Jay Singh from CalPoly State University, USA, is confirmed as the new IAPRI president.